Abdirashid Yousuf elected as a new Puntland parliament speaker


Puntland Parliament on Thursday elected Abdirashid Yousuf Jibril as a new speaker.

Three candidates, Abdirashid Yousuf Jibril, Abdijamal Osman Mohamed, and Ali Ahmed Dhahar took part in the election.

Abdirashid received 46 votes of the MPs in the round three of the voting, while his rival Abdijamal Osman Mohamed saved 17 votes, the election commission announced.